It is well known that between felonies and misdemeanors, felonies are the far more serious crimes. However, if you have gotten charged with a misdemeanor offense in the State of Florida, you are aware of how serious the process can be. A misdemeanor is still a crime, and can cause great harm to you and your loved ones. According to the State of Florida, there are two different categories of misdemeanors the state can charge you with.
The two different types of misdemeanors you can be charged with in Florida are known as first-degree and second-degree. In a first-degree misdemeanor charge, you may be subject to a fine of up to $1,000 and a jail sentence of no more than one year. Where second-degree misdemeanors are concerned, you may be subject to a jail sentence of no longer than 60 days and a fine no more than $500.
There is a long list of misdemeanor offenses in Florida. Examples of first-degree misdemeanor offenses may include driving under the influence, simple battery, reckless driving, vandalism, and indecent exposure. List of second-degree misdemeanors is far shorter, but may include driving with expired tags for longer than 6 months and getting caught multiple times, simple assault, disorderly conduct, or driving a motorcycle without an endorsement.
Keep in mind that it’s a guilty verdict on a misdemeanor sentence is handed down, the judge may not choose to impose maximum penalty. There is also the possibility of having some of the jail time replaced with community service, substance abuse counseling, or other sorts of counseling recommended by the court.