If a person is convicted of DUI, the conviction can have many impacts on his or her driver’s license and his or her vehicles. Typically, DUI convictions come with license suspensions. Here in Florida, they also often come with vehicle impoundment.
Under state law, when a person receives a DUI conviction, the vehicles he or she owns are generally to be impounded or immobilized for a period of time. If the person gets jail time in connection to the DUI, the immobilization or impoundment can’t happen at the same time as his or her incarceration.
How long does the impoundment last? It depends on a person’s record. For a first-time DUI conviction. the impoundment or immobilization period is 10 days. For a second DUI within a five-year period, it is 30 days. For a third DUI within 10 years of a previous conviction, it is 90 days.
Now, there are some situations in which courts can opt to not subject a person’s vehicle to the impoundment requirement, including:
- When the vehicle is the only form of transportation available to the convicted person’s family.
- When the vehicle is solely used by the convicted person’s employees or business.
So, having their vehicles impounded is among the things people can face if convicted of DUI in Florida.
There are many things about a DUI conviction that can have considerable impacts on a person and his or her family. So, how a person responds when charged with DUI matters a great deal. Drunk driving defense attorneys can give individuals facing DUI charges in the state guidance on their options for responding to and fighting such charges.